Hover over image to zoom
UGK ‎– Too Hard To Swallow LP clear vinyl
UGK ‎– Too Hard To Swallow LP clear vinylUGK ‎– Too Hard To Swallow LP clear vinyl

UGK ‎– Too Hard To Swallow LP clear vinyl


Hurry, only 1 left in stock!

Product Description

"To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of UGK’s first album, Get On Down goes the extra mile, presenting it for the first time ever on vinyl. AND 2-LP
clear vinyl at that, giving the strutting, funky grooves the chance to really stretch out on your system.
Back in 1992, Southern hip-hop was still proving to the world that it could sustain a fan base that was chiefly raised on rap from New York and
LA. The Geto Boys and 2 Live Crew had made strong cases by the earliest ‘90s, and Pimp C and Bun B were ready to make their own.
Most of the trunk-bumping bass comes from drum programs and basic sampling on these tunes – in later years they would build their sound
into something even fuller and deeper. Self-produced with additional work from Houston locals Bernie Bismark and Shetoro Henderson, the
tracks here are minimal, slow and menacing, which matched their lyrical approach quite nicely.
You can hear the beginnings of the group’s true greatness in these early lyrical workouts – several taken from the regional cassette-only EP The
Southern Way that got them signed to Jive – with tales of street hustles, relationships and self-reliance in a world stacked against them. They
may have been done early-on, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t crucial to UGK’s legacy – cases in point being the three singles: “Something
Good”; a charismatic update to Bill Withers’ “Use Me Up”; and “Pocket Full Of Stones” (the latter featured on the Menace II Society soundtrack).
Beyond the singles, deeper cuts like “I’m So Bad,” “Feels Like I’m The One Who’s Doin’ Dope” and “Cramping My Style” made it clear to the
world that this crew had the attitude and charisma to make even bigger waves in the years to come."

Label: Jive (3) ‎– GET 51323-LP
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Clear
Country: US
Released: 22 Apr 2017
Genre: Hip Hop
Style: Gangsta


A1 Something Good 5:27
A2 Use Me Up 4:28
A3 Pocket Full Of Stones 6:09
B1 Short Texas 6:17
B2 Cocaine In The Back Of The Ride 3:44
B3 It's Too Hard To Swallow 5:18
C1 Cramping My Style 4:44
C2 Feel Like I'm The One Who's Doin' Dope 6:16
C3 I'm So Bad 3:34
D1 Trill Ass Nigga 4:25
D2 976-Bun B 2:47
D3 Something Good (Pimp C's Remix) 4:34