Hover over image to zoom
Phantom Planet ‎– The Guest LP clear w/ black smoke vinyl
Phantom Planet ‎– The Guest LP clear w/ black smoke vinylPhantom Planet ‎– The Guest LP clear w/ black smoke vinyl

Phantom Planet ‎– The Guest LP clear w/ black smoke vinyl


Hurry, only 1 left in stock!

Product Description

Having Mitchell Froom and Tchad Blake as your record producers is roughly the equivalent of having musical life insurance. In addition to the pair’s outstanding work together in the Latin Playboys, Froom has produced Crowded House and Suzanne Vega, to name two, while Blake has mixed or engineered seminal groups from the BoDeans to the Bangles.

That said, the danger in hooking up with such a studio-savvy pair is the sheer force of their dominance, and unless an artist has real vision, the star of the show will inevitably be the ensuing sonics, not the songs. While fledgling pop combo Phantom Planet write breezy, accessible, jangly, upbeat songs that only occasionally speak to darker themes (the mildly cynical “Turn Smile Shift Repeat” and wistful “One Ray of Sunlight”), The Guest feels maddeningly measured, as if every chiming guitar part were scripted and directed for maximum sheen. In other words, it’s toothless. If a band can’t stretch in the presence of Froom and Blake, when can they? - Kim Hughes

Label: Enjoy The Ride Records ‎– ETR056
Format: Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Reissue, Clear w/ Black Smoke
Country: US
Released: 2016
Genre: Rock
Style: Indie Rock


A1 California 3:14
A2 Always On My Mind 3:27
A3 Lonely Day 3:41
A4 One Ray Of Sunlight 4:44
A5 Anthem 4:22
A6 In Our Darkest Hour 3:02
B1 Turn Smile Shift Repeat 5:22
B2 Hey Now Girl 2:44
B3 Nobody's Fault 2:35
B4 All Over Again 3:24
B5 Wishing Well 4:20
B6 Something Is Wrong 2:02


A&R – David Massey
A&R [Associate] – Matt Marshall (3)
Bass, Vocals – Sam Farrar
Design – Brandy Flower, Skullhead & Clark, The Tarnsman
Design, Photography By – Mike Myerberg
Drums – Jason Schwartzman
Engineer [Additional] – Jacquie Blake
Guitar – Darren Robinson
Guitar, Vocals – Jacques Brautbar
Management – Daniel Field
Mastered By – Bob Ludwig
Photography By – David Raccuglia, John Dunne (2), Tobin Yellan
Producer – Alexander Greenwald* (tracks: 13), Jason Schwartzman (tracks: 13), Mitchell Froom, Youth (tracks: 14)
Producer, Recorded By, Mixed By – Tchad Blake
Programmed By – Detourists
Saxophone – Mark K. Schoenecker (tracks: 7)
Vocals, Guitar – Alexander Greenwald*
Written-By – Alexander Greenwald* (tracks: 1 to 16), Darren Robinson (tracks: 15), Jacques Brautbar (tracks: 10, 15), Jason Schwartzman (tracks: 1, 3, 10, 13, 15), Sam Farrar (tracks: 15)
Written-By [Little Help] – Adam Schlesinger (tracks: 6)