Hover over image to zoom
Guru - Jazzmatazz Volume 1 LP

Guru - Jazzmatazz Volume 1 LP


NOT IN STOCK. Please call for special order 734-327-9239, all special orders will be discounted below this price
Out of stock

Product Description

Limited vinyl LP pressing of this classic 1993 album. Guru's Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1 is a jazz rap album from Guru, one half of the duo, Gang Star. This album is one of the first albums to combine a live jazz band with hip hop production and rapping. Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1 brought together a diverse group of jazz cats both old-school and new, including Roy Ayers, Donald Byrd, Lonnie Liston Smith, Ronny Jordan, and Courtney Pine. The album also features vocal collaborations with Carleen Anderson, N'Dea Davenport (of the Brand New Heavies) Dee C Lee and French rapper MC Solaar. The variety of guest artists adds diversity and originality to each track, and gives the album a distinct jazz feel. Continuing with it's Respect The Classics campaign, UMe reissues this classic album back on standard weigh vinyl.

Label: Virgin ‎– B002495301
Series: Respect The Classics – B002495301
Format: Vinyl, LP, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 2016
Genre: Hip Hop, Jazz
Style: Acid Jazz, Jazzy Hip-Hop, Conscious


A1 Introduction 1:20
A2 Loungin' 4:38
A3 When You're Near 4:02
A4 Transit Ride 3:58
A5 No Time To Play 4:54
A6 Down The Backstreets 4:47
B1 Respectful Dedications 0:54
B2 Take A Look (At Yourself) 3:59
B3 Trust Me 4:27
B4 Slicker Than Most 2:36
B5 Le Bien, Le Mal 3:21
B6 Sights In The City 5:10