Hover over image to zoom
Fucked Up ‎– Dose Your Dreams LP

Fucked Up ‎– Dose Your Dreams LP


Hurry, only 1 left in stock!

Product Description

“Never sink and never hide / They tried to break our dream, but child: / Joy Stops Time”. I was sent an unfinished version of Dose Your Dreams so that I might contribute string parts. I couldn’t stop listening to the rough mixes I received. A friend asked me how the record was. I replied, “My God, Fucked Up have made their Screamadelica.” And psych-rock-groove it is. The drums mixed wide, propensity for drones, for delay pedal, for repetition, groove. The politics and aesthetics of hardcore married to an “open format” approach to genre. Elements of doo-wop, krautrock, groove, digital hardcore. “None of Your Business Man” opens the album in familiar enough territory, a sax-assisted exit from an office space. But things get psychedelic very quickly. By the time the title track arrives, Mike Haliechuk is whispering, wah pedals are in full effect, and we’re wearing oversized t-shirts and pinwheeling. “Accelerate,” the lyrical centerpiece of the album, storms in like Boredoms on a bullet train and dissolves into a digital nightmare. The album closer, “Joy Stops Time,” finds Fucked Up at their most Düsseldorfian, nearly eight minutes of blissful motorik. At the center of it all is Damian Abraham’s scream—a man chained, a man tortured, a true protagonist. The effect is one of an epic, every chapter attempting its own narrative devices, its own genre hybridization—and it works, it works so insanely well. The drama unfolds like a miniature world of many parts being explored, a map being illuminated, location by location. As with David Comes to Life, there is a story here. David—who once came to life—is now indentured to a desk job. David meets the elderly Joyce who closes his eyes, opens his mind, and sends him on a spiritual journey. David embarks on his own metaphysical odyssey. He sees a stage adaptation of his own life. He speaks to an angel in a lightbulb. He sees an infinite series of universes as simulations within simulations. Meanwhile, Lloyd—Joyce’s lover—was sent, decades ago, by Joyce on the same odyssey, but was lost in the void. Lloyd seeks to be found and reunited with his lover. Where will David end up? Will Joyce and Lloyd be reunited? Dose Your Dreams—meaning: treat your dreams as you would a dream, allow yourself to be lost within them, allow them to open your heart and your mind, enjoy them as you would a drug. Reach out for my hand and pull me close. —Owen Pallett June 2018

Label: Merge Records ‎– MRG661
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: USA, Canada & Europe
Released: 05 Oct 2018
Genre: Rock
Style: Punk


A1 None Of Your Business Man
A2 Raise Your Voice Joyce
A3 Tell Me What You See
A4 Normal People
B1 Torch To Light
B2 Talking Pictures
B3 House Of Keys
B4 Dose Your Dreams
C1 Living In A Simulation
C2 I Don’t Wanna Live In This World Anymore
C3 How To Die Happy
C4 Two I's Closed
C5 The One I Want Will Come For Me
D1 Mechanical Bull
D2 Accelerate
D3 Came Down Wrong
D4 Love Is An Island In The Sea
D5 Joy Stops Time