Hover over image to zoom
Brian Jonestown Massacre - Pol Pot's Pleasure Penthouse LP

Brian Jonestown Massacre - Pol Pot's Pleasure Penthouse LP


3 Available

Product Description

Label: A Records (4) ‎– AUK041LP
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Blue
Country: UK
Released: 22 Apr 2017
Genre: Rock
Style: Psychedelic Rock, Shoegaze


A1 Fingertips
A2 Rotary Eight
A3 Telephone
B1 Thoughts Of You
B2 Pictures Of Us
B3 Evergreen
B4 Psychedelic Sunday
C1 No One Can Hear You Cry In Space
C2 Jazz
C3 That Quiet Song
C4 Snails In Winter
C5 Memphis Sounds
D1 Don't Do It
D2 Platinum Dust Disaster Drill
D3 Yesterday
D4 Exhaust
D5 Mouth To Mouth
D6 Collision

RSD 2017 release. First time vinyl release of The Brian Jonestown Massacre's Pol Pot's Pleasure Penthouse. The only time this album was ever officially released was on cassette on Burger Records (in a limited edition of 500). Recorded in 1990/91 on a four-track at Anton Newcombe's home in San Francisco, Pol Pot's Pleasure Penthouse best described in Anton's own words: "when I left home and moved to San Francisco, first thing on my mind was joining a band... the problem for me was that there were not any bands that would have me or even played the type of music I imagined I wanted to hear... so I decided to start my own... I would make small down payments at pawnshops for gear, buy recording machines, amps, guitars, whatever. Within three months of teaching myself the seven folk chords I use nonstop to this day, I had already taught a few new friends how to play as well and we were off. I used to make up songs everyday on the four-track just to teach myself how to write... I understood what I liked about music, I just didn't know how to pull it out of the ether and bring them into being. At the same time, I would make demo tapes and share them with friends... endless demo tapes... I would send them to magazines and record labels with no return address, just for the fuck of it. It was never my intention to actually release this music... for instance, if I came up with a country song, I would finish it just to learn more about writing... I didn't want to be in a classic country group, this is a document of my learning process. Good times... this album is one such tape from 1990/91, I can't remember. Enjoy." Available here on 180 gram blue colored vinyl.
Track Listing:
A1. Fingertips
A2. Rotary Eight
A3. Telephone
B1. Thoughts Of You
B2. Pictures Of Us
B3. Evergreen
B4. Psychedelic Sunday
C1. No One Can Hear You Cry In Space
C2. Jazz
C3. That Quiet Song
C4. Snails In Winter
C5. Memphis Sounds
D1. Don't Do It
D2. Platinum Dust Disaster Drill
D3. Yesterday
D4. Exhaust
D5. Mouth To Mouth
D6. Collision