Hover over image to zoom
Bad Times - Streets Of Iron LP
Bad Times - Streets Of Iron LPBad Times - Streets Of Iron LP

Bad Times - Streets Of Iron LP


NOT IN STOCK. Please call for special order 734-327-9239, all special orders will be discounted below this price
Filed with Jay Reatard
Out of stock

Product Description

In 1998, things were going south for friends Jay Reatard, Eric Oblivian, and King Louie Bankston. In between broken relationships, shattered homes, dissolving bands, and feeling low down, a collaboration was proposed. Jay and Eric trekked down from Memphis with some songs and ideas for songs, listening to Funkadelic and bad Killed By Death-styled punk songs for the six hours to see Louie in New Orleans. One day was spent learning songs, one day recording songs. Eventually they played one show in Normal, IL, opening up for Guitar Wolf. The result of this recording was a blast of punk, garage punk, and psychedelic mayhem. Indeed, the hours listening to Funkadelic did pay off. Jay stole some lyrics and some heavy fuzz solo style from George Clinton and the gang. Eric stole a couple songs from Japanese punk legends Friction and Texaco Leather Man, and tried to mention his favorite sumo wrestler Konishiki whenever possible. Fittingly, when Jay and Eric returned to Memphis, Jay found all his belongings—clothes, guitars, amplifiers—out on his front lawn, as his mom had returned to their house and kicked him out while he was away. Bad Times, indeed!

A release on Sympathy For The Record Industry combined tracks from this session and from their one live show, and has become a cherished collector’s item going for top dollar on the secondhand market. This edition restores the original tracks from the recording session—Eric’s “Wrong Way To Love” and Jay’s “Lick On My Leather,” eliminating two live tracks. A new track order provides a punchy new way to experience the music as well, and the music has been carelessly remastered from a dub of the original cassette. Behold the final product—this is how the Bad Times was meant to be heard!

• Recordings of legendary 1998 one-off band featuring Jay Reatard, Eric Oblivian, and King Louie Bankston

• Released in different form on Sympathy For The Record Industry, now OOP and a collector’s item, this version restores two studio tracks and removes two live ones

Label: Goner Records ‎– 146Gone, Therapeutic Records ‎– TIC-005
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered
Country: US
Released: 25 May 2018
Genre: Rock

Garage Rock, Punk

A1 Streets Of Iron
A2 Over You
A3 Trapped In The City
A4 The Jim Miller Bounce
A5 Glitter Boys
A6 You're So Lewd
A7 Wrong Way To Love
B1 Lick My Leather
B2 Sometimes She Wants It
B3 Listen To The Band
B4 Mamma Told Me So
B5 Bad Time
B6 Crazy Dream
B7 Whatcha Gonna Do About It