Hover over image to zoom



NOT IN STOCK. Please call for special order 734-327-9239, all special orders will be discounted below this price
Out of stock

Product Description

Produced slowly and meticulously, these seven tracks by Manchester's Andy Stott take influence from an array of seemingly incoherent noises, from the indefinable and unforgettable mind-tricks of Arthur Russell to the slow house of Kassem Mosse, from the alternate VHS realities of James Ferraro and Jamal Moss to the LinnDrum classics of the vintage Prince era. These seven tracks create their own pace and agenda, largely shying away from the dancefloor in favor of something more complex and hard to define. Following on from the tribal malfunctions of opening intro "Signature," "New Ground" heads into a chasm of layered loops, creating a decimated and re-wired funk template colored in with frayed percussion and dislodged vocal samples. "North To South" starts off from similar ground but adds a shuffling vibe at a deceptively intoxicated 110 bpm. "Intermittent" is something altogether different, taking perfectly formed boogie templates and screwing with them until nothing quite fits, brittle elements floating in and out of time yet somehow keeping it together, before "Dark Details" delivers the most dancefloor compatible six-minute stretch of the set, all clanging stabs and dense percussion, somewhere between Shackleton and Bam Bam. "Execution" and "Passed Me By" end things off on a slowed-down tip, the former deploying an anaesthetized and padded 4/4 template sunk deeper into the abyss by deformed, time-stretched vocals, the latter ending off proceedings with a more delicate palette, letting go of all that pent-up emotion with nothing but that rumbling low-end and some strings for company. Mastered and cut at Dubpates & Mastering, Berlin.
Track Listing:
Disc 1
Side A
01. Signature 00:37 listen
02. New Ground 06:21 listen
Side B
03. North To South 04:50 listen
04. Intermittent 03:26 listen
Disc 2
Side C
01. Dark Details 06:04 listen
Side D
02. Execution 05:15 listen
03. Passed Me By 06:54 listen
- 2012 repress of Andy Stott's Passed Me By.
- These are layered, smudged and frayed productions veering from slow-house to inverted boogie.
- Mastered and cut at Dubplates & Mastering, Berlin.
- "You sometimes wonder if Andy Stott can hear frequencies you simply can't." --Pitchfork
- "Yes, this album -- mini-album, EP, doublepack, call it what you will -- is an uncompromising and hugely absorbing work, by turns brutal and beautiful, from one of the UK's most talented and criminally underrated producers. It's really good to have him back." --FACT Magazine

Official web site: